I consider that  public funded projects output must be open, whether it is OER, Open data, Open access, etc. That is one of the challenges I have been facing with my thesis, I started from an advocate perspective. 🙂
Although personally, I use everything that I come across that I consider relevant for the objectives I want to achieve, including copyrighted material (if I can´t find it under a flexible license) and mix them together.  I request permission for the copyright material and make a disclaimer stating that they arecopyrighted materials and authorizations to reuse them should be requested. The studies are made available under a Creative Commons license.
I am each time more convinced that it is critical to learn IPR, in school, not from a negative perspective (the usual not to steal/punishment mode!) but from a positive, constructive, creative, rights perspective. It would for sure get a lot of kids, students, teachers looking at what they do from quite a different perspective of worthness and value. They would know/ have an informed choice as to how they wanted to share their creations, as CC0, copyrighted, flexible licenses…
The other day in a forum, the position it was that IPR is just for developed countries and big corporations…I consider that right now it protects much better the ownership/authorship (depending on national legislations and whether the countries are signatories to Berne Convention) for  authors from whenever they are. Having said that, I am also in total disagreement of getting back to public domain as default for the creator, unless it is registered, as then it will be a privilege of developed countries and a total backlash for authors/owners from developing countries. Then, the colleagues from that forum would be absolutely right!
